Lamont-Doherty Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is made up of community leaders, loyal friends and Lamont-Doherty alumni, all of whom believe deeply in our mission-to generate fundamental knowledge about the origin, evolution an d future of the natural world.

Members of the Advisory Board build awareness of and support for the Observatory through various projects, such as the production of "Science to Sustain the Planet." Released in early 2008, this DVD, narrated by Tom Brokaw, highlights the achievements of Lamont-Doherty over the last 60 years.  Advisory Board members also contribute to an Innovation Fund, awarded on a compeitive basis each year to Observatory researchers in need of seed funding for initiatives with potential long-term impact at the Observatory.


Ms. Sarah Johnson, Chair
Ms. Susan Holgate, Vice Chair
Dr. Dennis Adler, PhD’82
Mr. Edward Botwinick, BA’56, BS’58
Mr. Walter R. Brown
Ms. Patricia A. Daly, OP
Ms. Wendy A. David
Mr. Jeffrey Stuart Gould
Mr. Frank Gumper, MA'71, MS'83
Dr. Robert Kay, PhD’70
Mr. Quentin Kennedy
Ms. Katherine Le Mieux-Rodman
Mr. Lawrence Lynn
Dr. Florentin Maurrasse, PhD ‘73
Dr. Kathleen Semergieff
Mr. Gerald Sobel
Mr. Julian Sproule
Ms. Jane Wells

Dr. William F. Baker
Dr. George L. Becker, M.D.’62
Mr. Adam Wolfensohn

Ex Officio
Dr. Sean C. Solomon, LDEO Director

Dr. Arthur Lerner-Lam, LDEO Deputy Director

From left to right: Sean Solomon, Julian Sproule, Walter Brown, Kathleen Semergieff, Wendy David, Larry Lynn, Frank Gumper, George Becker, Sarah Johnson, Sr. Pat Daly,and Florentin Maurrasse. Board members not present: Dennis Adler, Edward Botwinick, Jeffrey Gould, Susan Holgate, Quentin Kennedy and Adam Wofensohn.