Earth Science Colloquium

Background:

The Earth Science Colloquium Series is sponsored by Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory and Columbia University Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences (DEES). This series provides a lively forum for discussing a wide variety of topics within the earth sciences and related fields. Colloquia are attended by the full range of scientific and technical staff at LDEO. Colloquium attendance is required of all pre-orals DEES graduate students.

Instructions for Speakers:

Each colloquium is scheduled for approximately one hour. Speakers are asked to prepare a 40-45 minute presentation, which will be followed by a question and discussion period. The colloquium audience comes from a diverse array of scientific backgrounds (including graduate students from the geological, biological, chemical, and physical sciences). Not all members of the audience will be familiar with the history of or methodologies used in every subfield of the earth sciences. Speakers should therefore begin their talk with at least 15-20 minutes of general background information before proceeding to more specialized topics.

Time and Place:

Colloquia begin at 3:30 pm Friday afternoons throughout the academic year. Talks are held in the auditorium of the Monell Building, which seats an audience of 180. Please click here for a campus map and directions.

Facilities:

Audio/visual equipment includes two overhead projectors, two slide projectors, and PowerPoint projection. Additional equipment can be arranged by contacting the colloquium coordinators.

Current Coordinator: 

Alberto Malinverno - alberto@ldeo.columbia.edu                                                                                                                                 

Organizers     

Natalie Accardo - accardo@ldeo.columbia.edu

Olivia Clifton - oclifton@ldeo.columbia.edu

Kassandra Costa - kcosta@ldeo.columbia.edu

Jonathan Gale - jgale@ldeo.columbia.edu

Ruthie Oliver - roliver@ldeo.columbia.edu

Hannah Rabinowitz - hannahr@ldeo.columbia.edu     

                                                                                                       

Current Colloquium Schedule:

2014 - 2015 

 

Past Colloquium Schedules:

2013 - 2014

2012 - 2013

2011 - 2012

2010 - 2011

2009 - 2010

2008 - 2009

2007 - 2008

2006 - 2007

2005 - 2006

2004 - 2005

2003 - 2004

2002 - 2003

2001 - 2002