2015 Vetlesen Prize Call for Nominations

The Vetlesen Prize, established in 1959 by the G. Unger Vetlesen Foundation, is awarded for scientific achievement that has resulted in a clearer understanding of the Earth, its history, or its relations to the universe. The prize consists of a medal and a cash award of $250,000. 

As of 2015, the prize will be awarded to a single individual, who can reside and work anywhere in the world. The prize is administered by Columbia University’s Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory.
Nomination packages include at least two letters that describe the nominee’s contributions to a fuller understanding of the workings of our planet, along with a one-paragraph biographical sketch and the full curriculum vitae of the candidate.

The nomination period for the 2015 Vetlesen Prize is now closed. 
Sean C. Solomon, Director
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
P.O. Box 1000, 61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
or via electronic submission to: vetlesenprize@ldeo.columbia.edu