About LCSN

The Lamont-Doherty Cooperative Seismographic Network (LCSN) monitors earthquakes that occur primarily in the northeastern United States. The goal of the project is to compile a complete earthquake catalog for this region to assess the earthquake hazards, and to study the causes of the earthquakes in the region. The LCSN now operates 40 seismographic stations in seven states: Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Vermont.

LCSN is unusual in using a variety of station operators (college & university faculty, secondary school teachers, museums, etc.) to engage a wide variety of audiences and to reach out to large numbers of the general public. It also provides professional development and improved awareness among station operators who are not professional seismologists. About half of the broadband station operators and stations belong to each participating organization. Hence, a large portion of the operation and maintenance cost are born by the participating organizations. A list of ~35 partners are listed below. The LCSN relies upon their support in station maintenance and operation in the region. The organizations who operate LCSN stations consist of 2 secondary schools, 2 environmental research and education centers, 3 state geological surveys, a museum dedicated to Earth system history, 2 public place (Central Park, NYC & Howe Caverns), 3 two-year colleges, and 15 four-year universities.

 LCSN is an active member of the Advanced National Seismic System (ANSS) and more information on regional seismographic networks in the United States and recent earthquakes can be found on USGS.

News Letter

Partners of LCSN are (ordered by station code):

Adirondack Community College, SUNY (ACCN)
Allegheny College, PA (ALLY)
William Annin Middle School, NJ (BRNJ)
Black Rock Forest Consortium, (BRNY)
Central Park Conservancy, NYC (CPNY)
Queens College, CUNY (CUNY)
Delaware Geological Survey, MD (DGS subnet)
Franklin and Marshall College, PA (FMPA)
Fordham University, the Bronx (FOR)
Miner Agricultural Research Institute (FRNY, PNZ)
Plattsburgh State, SUNY (FRNY)
Geneseo College, SUNY (GENY)
University of Vermont, Burlington (HBVT)
Howe Caverns, Cobleskill, New York (HCNY)
SUNY Cobleskill (HCNY)
Department Environmental Protection, State of Connecticut (LSCT)
Lehigh University, PA (LUPA)
Middlebury College, VT (MDV, MIV)
POLARIS Consortium, Canada (MEDO)
Mount Morris Dam, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, NY (MMNY)
Montclair State University, NJ (MSNJ)
Nature Center at the Rifle Camp Park, Passaic County, NJ (MSNJ)
Millersville University, PA (MVL)
College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse, SUNY (NCB)
Mohonk Preserve, New Paltz, NY (NPNY)
SUNY-New Paltz (NPNY)
Sterling Hill Mine Museum, Ogdensburg, NJ (ODNJ)
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Palisades, NY (PAL)
Princeton Academy of the Sacred Heart (PANJ)
Princeton University (PANJ)
Paleontological Research Institution, Museum of the Earth, Ithaca, NY (PRNY)
Cornell Univ., Ithaca, New York (PRNY)
Potsdam College of Art and Science, SUNY, Potsdam, NY (PTN)
Maryland Geological Survey, MD (SDMD)
Towson University, Towson, MD (SDMD)
University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT (UCCT)
Westchester Community College, SUNY (WCCN)
Carthage Central High School, NY (WCNY)