Lamont Heritage Award

The Lamont-Doherty Heritage Award is bestowed on staff or students of the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory whose work has helped shape the future of the Observatory and has contributed profoundly to its position as a world leader in research to understand the Earth.

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory has a distinguished history of scientific discovery. Numerous organizations have honored the achievements of these scientists, but unfortunately the institution which trained and sustained them has not. To remedy this oversight, the Observatory has created the Lamont Heritage Award. The first recipient will be Marie Tharp, the pioneering mapper of the seafloor.

Past awardees:

Date: 2001
Awardee: Marie Tharp