Administrative Committee


The Administrative Committee of the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory was established in 1961. The tasks originally laid out for this committee are not applicable today.

The committee membership consist of the Lamont director and those members nominated by the President of the University, who serves as Chair, and as appointed by the trustees to serve for a term of three years.

The committee meets on an annual basis and continues to be concerned with the quality and appropriateness of the work undertaken at the Observatory. The Lamont Director provides a Director's report focused upon:

  • The current state of the Observatory – both scientific and administrative;
  • Plans for the future.


  • Lee Bollinger, President
  • Provost
  • Jeffrey Sachs, Director, Earth Institute at Columbia University
  • Sean C. Solomon, Director, LDEO
  • Arthur Lerner-Lam, Deputy Director, LDEO
  • Peter Kelemen, Chair, DEES
  • David Krantz, Prof. Psychology
  • Carlos J. Alonso, Dean, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
  • Sidney Hemming, DEES
  • David Goldberg, Marine Division, LDEO
  • Minfang Ting, Ocean and Climate Physics, LDEO
  • Director of Administration, LDEO