Executive Committee

Executive Committee


All policy and programmatic issues associated with research performance and future directions of the Observatory, including interactions with affiliated Earth Institute and other Columbia units and groups, both on and off the Lamont campus, as they pertain to the intellectual vigor of the Observatory. Will advise on the incorporation of new units having direct intellectual ties to the Observatory, particularly if they are to be located on the Lamont campus. Will carry out research and other planning activities, including identification of appointment needs through a Planning Subcommittee (see below). Will appoint other standing and/or ad hoc subcommittees for specific tasks. Will consult on recommendations to the Directorate made by the Promotion and Careers Subcommittee (see below) concerning all research promotions and appointments. Any matter not resolved in the Executive Committee shall be referred to a meeting of the Observatory Senior Staff at the request of any member of the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee is chaired by the Lamont Director.

The senior staff representative from each research division is elected by ballot by the Observatory research staff of the appropriate division. The junior staff representative is appointed by the Director, from nominations received from the research divisions. Those members elected or appointed following recommendation to the Director will serve three-year terms.

Ex officio members representing units or groups with which the Observatory has direct research or academic ties can be included on the Executive Committee by vote of the existing members. The Executive Committee is free to request members of the Observatory or others to participate in its meetings where additional input is desired.

Voting Membership

– Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences Chair:

  • Jerry McManus, Chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

– Associate Director Of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion:

  • Vicki Ferrini, Marine/Large Programs

– Associate Directors of the Research Divisions:

  • Andrew Juhl, Biology and Paleo Environment
  • Vicki Ferrini, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Gisela Winckler, Geochemistry
  • Robin Bell, Marine Geology and Geophysics
  • David Goldberg, Marine Large Programs
  • Mingfang Ting, Ocean and Climate Physics    
  • James Davis, Seismology, Geology and Tectonophysics

– 1 Senior Research Staff Representative from each Research Division:

  • Billy D'Andrea, Biology and Paleo Environment
  • Joerg Schaefer, Geochemistry
  • Alberto Malinverno, Marine Geology, and Geophysics
  • Jason Smerdon, Ocean and Climate Physics
  • Einat Lev, Seismology, Geology and Tectonophysics

– 1 Junior Research Staff Representative

  • Christine McCarthy, Seismology, Geology and Tectonophysics

– 1   Research Scientist Representative

  • Bob Newton, Geochemistry

– 1   Postdoctoral Research Scientist Representative

  • Craig Connolly, Geochemistry (Alternate - Naomi Saunders)

–  1  Graduate Student Representative

  • Ludda Ludwig/Kevin Schwarzwald)

– 1 Technical Staff Representative

  • Nicholas Frearson, Marine Geology, and Geophysics

Non-Voting Membership

– Heads of designated units, as ex officio members:

  • Maureen Raymo, Director, Chair of the Committee
  • David Goldberg, Deputy Director
  • Robert Chen, Director, CIESIN
  • John Furlow, Director, IRI
  • Suzanne Carbotte, Promotions and Careers Sub-Committee, Chair
  • Meghan Fay, Sr. Director of Advancement, External Relations, and Strategic Initiatives
  • Edith Miller, Assistant Director of Finance and Administration
  • Mahdad Parsi, Director of Research Computing and Infrastructure

-Administrative Liaisons

  • Bonnie Bonkowski, Division Administrator, Seismology, Geology, and Tectonophysics
  • Nicole deRoberts, Sr. Manager Academic Affairs
  • Kaleigh Matthews, Director of Academic Administration and Finance
  • Kimberly Schermerhorn, Program Manager, Research Analysis and Planning