Vetlesen Prize Call for Nominations

2023 Vetlesen Prize Call for Nominations

Opening Date: March 2022


The Vetlesen Prize, established in 1959 by The G. Unger Vetlesen Foundation, is awarded for scientific achievement that has resulted in a clearer understanding of the Earth, its history, or its relation to the universe. The prize consists of a medal and a cash award of $250,000.

The prize will be awarded to a single individual, who can reside and work anywhere in the world. The prize is administered by Columbia University’s Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory.
Nomination packages should include at least two letters that describe the nominee’s contributions to a fuller understanding of the workings of our planet, along with a one-paragraph biographical sketch and the full curriculum vitae of the candidate.


Please submit nomination packages to:
Maureen E. Raymo, Director
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
P.O. Box 1000, 61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
or via electronic submission to: