Education is central to the mission of Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory. Much of the formal teaching is conducted through Columbia's Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, but several degree programs are organized in partnership with other departments and schools within the university... > more

Sonya Dyhrman Named SCOPE Investigator

Congratulations to Sonya Dyhrman for being named a SCOPE Investigator in the new Simons Foundation program in ocean sciences. The award comes with three years of funding that Professor Dyhrman’s research group will use to investigate the role of key functional groups of cyanobacteria and microalgae in the ecosystem structure and biogeochemistry of the North Pacific Subtropical Gyre.

Professor Wallace S. Broecker honored with Dean’s Award for Distinguished Achievement

The Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences is very pleased to announce that Professor Wallace S. Broecker was honored with the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Achievement at the 2014 GSAS Ph.D. Convocation Ceremony.

Professor Adam Sobel Awarded AXA Award

Congratulations Adam Sobel for being awarded an AXA Award in Climate and Extreme Weather from the AXA Research Fund. Prof. Sobel is the first AXA awardee; the AXA Awards have just been created as a new instrument by the AXA Research Fund to spur and accelerate the pace of academic innovation.